XBOX VP BASHES On Modern Game Reviews, Is “Qwik” To Backpedal Statement
Comments
  • MrTrenchcoat6961

    February 25, 2019

    Comboing is common knowledge though. Lol
    Considering it was heavily featured in pretty much all of the dev videos, and oh yeah, was in Mass Effect since the second entry. :p
    Anyone who's saying they are upset because the game doesn't teach you how to work a system that has been in use since Mass Effect 2 is just looking for something to be pissed about.

    Reply
  • ArsenicSteel002

    February 25, 2019

    I'd rather listen to/read a dozen professional reviews than watch a single streamer when deciding on a game to buy. A publication expectedly has ads but those are not direct contributions to the journalists doing reviews. They don't derive income from the popularity of their content either. Streamers are the most easily corrupted by sponsorship, analytics, and feeding into what their crowd wants/expects to see.

    Reply
  • Nym OneFourSix3

    February 25, 2019

    Xbox VP was RIGHT, are you an NPC Matty?

    Reply
  • SuperbLegend4

    February 25, 2019

    Like the sub reddit with fallout 76 all these ppl saying youtubers need to shut up and buy the game so you can say its shit first.

    Reply
  • wazman77show5

    February 25, 2019

    Matty and karak are my gaming friends lol

    Reply
  • Cross 6666

    February 25, 2019

    I am finally a pc gamer never going back to Xbox or PlayStation

    Reply
  • Tibber style7

    February 25, 2019

    user reviews are really good for most products , yah you might have to dodge the occasional troll review or fanboy review but people who spend there own money tend to be more honest about a product then people who get payed for it

    Reply
  • 1 million subscribers with no videos8

    February 25, 2019

    were is the metro exodus

    Reply
  • MWepex9

    February 25, 2019

    There are a few LP'ers that I trust whereas Reviewers are often 'toxic- gamers'.

    Reply
  • rafal piotr10

    February 25, 2019

    I like to watch/read a review and then watch someone stream the game. I'm almost 100% sure then if I'll like the game.

    Reply
  • IndaGhoul11

    February 25, 2019

    Ok, with anthem the combo system shouldn't be hard to see because it happens automatically and you can just figure it out, if you can't well either you just aren't paying attention at all.

    Reply
  • The Eradicator12

    February 25, 2019

    It's "terrifying" when publishers bring in streamers to promote their game? You mean like how Bethesda brought you in to promote Fallout 76?

    Reply
  • Jeff Strongman13

    February 25, 2019

    Mike's out of line. Wants you ignorant so will open your wallet.

    Reply
  • SegalEyE14

    February 25, 2019

    this isnt really one way or the other, my opinion is a review is better when the reviewer goes at their own pace that they enjoy. like despite what anyone thinks about anthem, a review put out 1 or 2 weeks after September 22nd will be much more accurate than ones that are already out

    Reply
  • Yazz15

    February 25, 2019

    If you went to see a movie, and it sucked was completely unfinished, special effects still not done, would you review it highly? Say they invite you back a year later saying “we finished it” you dont have to pay just watch it again, would you?

    They are releasing steam early access without the title and its killing them. “Launching” a game but its really a beta, or even pre alpha in the case of 76. It’s a joke on the devs, and the people rushing garbage to market.

    Reply
  • Redfrog10116

    February 25, 2019

    That fighting game look fun af tbh

    Reply
  • Jack Daniel17

    February 25, 2019

    The same people who threw a fit about IGN playing the wrong section in RE2 are now defending the honor of all reviewers. This pointless crying and drama is honestly getting tired.

    Reply
  • John Smith18

    February 25, 2019

    Says the guy who's console has no good exclusives.

    Reply
  • n19

    February 25, 2019

    Microsoft should protect us more from these unfinished and cash grabbing games , when you feel ripped of its not nice , money is hard to come by , I've been burned by mafia 3 ,destiny 2 and a couple others , thank God I passed 76 ,star wars bf5 , anthem and Xbox first party the last year , after all we pay for the gold ,

    Reply
  • Cody Bury20

    February 25, 2019

    Translation, he is salty that some reviewers can't be bought out.

    Reply
  • Muzz Sama21

    February 25, 2019

    I agree a little with him, most games journos are just peddling their activism, disguised as critique. It’s cringe at best and destructive at worst.

    Reply
  • Asmodeus Azarak22

    February 25, 2019

    Reviews are important. For too long we had to buy games based on the picture of the box, or possibly with a badly biased review in say a Nintendo Power magazine or the like. If you were lucky you got to try a game at a friend's house, and eventually you could rent them, but especially in these times of unfinished releases and exploitative microtransactions, reviews are more important than ever. It's not like I look at one review and decide whether to buy or not, but a combination of my interest in the game and game type, plus the various reviews out there helps inform my decisions. After Fallout 76 preordering is likely to be something I will do only in extreme cases if ever.

    Reply
  • Dia Nuevo23

    February 25, 2019

    The riviews are ok but many times they are just biased, instead of being neutral and giving the full info on why it is good or why its bad. Same reason why i do not trust metacritic anymore.

    Reply
  • Robert Worth24

    February 25, 2019

    I prefer reviewers like Matty & ACG over gaming journalists.

    Reply
  • Tyler Jacobson25

    February 25, 2019

    Anthem should be a 0. It's significantly worse than Warframe which is free.

    Reply
  • Dia Nuevo26

    February 25, 2019

    Sorry but if the game is still not out officially, then it having bugs and issues does make sense.

    Reply
  • Ronald Maclean27

    February 25, 2019

    It’s funny how an IGN reviewer doesn’t play the game through fully and gets caught lying in his review (people forget that in his initial review he referenced playing and loving the original game and different play throughs, yet the remaster was just same old same old, then IGN edits out that part of the review to protect said reviewer) and the internet was all over him, and now this reviewer gets “criticized” for speaking on something he never fully investigated (which is a poor reviewing practice. Also, don’t give me the tutorial is buried behind such and such jargon. He reviewed the game and didn’t fully research before stating he wasn’t shown how to do a combo, which still is a stretch but also not true. He didn’t look for it.) now the online community are trying to protect him?
    Reviews are great and they are just someone’s opinion, not fact. It’s just sad that those offering criticizim can dish it out but get super insecure when faced with their own

    Reply
  • Darth Brandflakes28

    February 25, 2019

    One thing that gets me is negative videos about a game a YouTuber doesn’t care about but still covers. Like this fallout 76 pay to win thing. None of these people play the game, and if they did they would know it’s really not a pvp experience

    Reply
  • Flubby Mcflubbins29

    February 25, 2019

    What game is in the background? Jump force? It looks fun.

    Reply
  • MrRighteousfish30

    February 25, 2019

    This executive has done more harm then good with his tweet. Regardless of his intent it comes off as damage control. All this did was polarize the community even more.

    Reviews are needed. Who doesnt look at a review for a vehicle, contractor etc etc. Its part of doing research wtf. This narrative about reviewers are bias and trash is ridiculous. Reviewers like ACG, skill up and Matt do an amazing job.

    Reply
  • will adam31

    February 25, 2019

    Combos are not that hard to figure out

    Reply
  • Gnosis Seeker32

    February 25, 2019

    Ewww "woke"

    Reply
  • Ace Sawyer33

    February 25, 2019

    Hey Matty the game in not FUCKING out. If the day 1 patch that helps fix a lot of the problems isn't out then the game is still in an early access form and if you play it in that form you should expect an early access build

    Reply
  • Secave34

    February 25, 2019

    6:40
    Well that's exactly why I keep watching You, ACG and Skill up as reviewers ! And for Anthem, I'm glad I did. I want to like this game but you need to be blind to see the no-content in this game. You finish the poor campain with SJW whiny characters then you're left with no content.

    Remember. Warframe is out for 5 years (so 5 dev years), Anthem got the same with a bigger budget.

    Reply
  • LonesomeCourier35

    February 25, 2019

    Elevator music?

    Reply
  • Charles Crawford36

    February 25, 2019

    How did the Metro Review Bombing occur? Did people that had previously given earlier Metro's a good review and then because of the Steam/Epic issue write a bunch of bad reviews? If this media (youtube) could provide us with reviews that they stick with like professional book or movie reviewers have to do, I would have more trust in youtube reviews.

    Reply
  • Chris Fuller37

    February 25, 2019

    I think in regard to Anthem, Bioware does not want Anthem to be on Early Access. But since this is an EA first-party online game, they were required to put it out on Early Access via EA/Origin Access. There's no way around that, any EA first-party game with a major online system are "required" to be available to Premier members to play before the game is officially out (otherwise, what the heck is the point of owning Premier/Access? free games is not the main pulling point). This kind of system is not good for any developers, and will likely be the downfall for many EA-owned studios if they keep mandating devs to give subscribers early looks into their games.

    Reply
  • G R H38

    February 25, 2019

    Roadhouse matty ya gotta watch it
    Roadhouse

    Reply
  • Nasu39

    February 25, 2019

    Oh look it's another example of if it's good score then that's absolutely a okay but if it's not than Reviewers are bad and you should watch streamers(which we have paid) instead. Oh GTFO Microsoft. I would never trust some random streamer over an independent reviewers such as Jim Sterling, Angry Joe, Matty and many more. Mainstream reviewers like IGN or Gamespot, their credibility is indeed debatable, but i have no doubt that independent reviewers are always the best option.

    Reply
  • C2K40

    February 25, 2019

    My friend really liked Anthem, he said it was is his favourite game since FO76. Well I say 'friend' we don't actually talk anymore

    Reply
  • Gary Hall41

    February 25, 2019

    They want games to be status symbols like the Walkman, carphones, Ferrari, Lamborghini, brooks brothers, gucci they want game to be for the elitist crowd, at least that seems to be what it looks like on the outside looking in.

    Reply
  • John Kober42

    February 25, 2019

    Is there any major game developer or publisher besides CDPR or Obsidian that doesn’t absolutely suck?

    Reply
  • Storm 103043

    February 25, 2019

    Jump force looks really flashy, but very boring, great video man 🙂

    Reply
  • Chris Fromme44

    February 25, 2019

    @mrmattyplays – I played the anthem demo for like 45 minutes and figured out combos without looking at anything. Same with about 4 friends I knew. It is annoying when people can't play a game and doc it (see the gamespot guy who couldn't figure out how to do the second run in res evil 2 and had to change his score). That and people docking far cry 5 for not being about trump, which like what? How is that a review on game design lol?

    Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *